Facts, Team & Car - Simon Pagenaud, Professional Racing Driver

À propos de Simon

 

Bio

Simon Pagenaud est de retour en 2020 pour une sixième saison avec le team Penske, l’équipe nord-américaine la plus titrée en monoplace. Pagenaud a gagné l’édition 2019 des 500 miles d’Indianapolis avec brio et est devenu le premier français à gagner « la plus grande course au monde » en 99 ans. Le palmarès de Pagenaud en IndyCar comprend 15 victoires, 14 pole positions (dont celle des 500 miles en 2019), le titre de champion IndyCar Series en 2016 et vice-champion en 2017 et 2019. Le natif de Montmorillon, près de Poitier, a été élu meilleur « rookie » en 2012 et a gagné le championnat américain d'endurance ALMS LMP en 2010.

 Avant d'être titré en Amérique, Simon Pagenaud s’est illustré en Europe. Après avoir gagné le « Volant Elf » (concours de jeune pilote), il accède au sport automobile en 2001 et termine second du championnat « Formule Renault Campus ». L’année suivante il passe en Formule Renault où il décroche le titre de vice-champion de l’Eurocup. Il accède au championnat World Series by Renault en 2005. Attiré par le championnat américain, il passe des tests avec des écuries du championnat Formule Atlantic et obtient un baquet dans l’écurie Team Australia en 2006 où il décroche le titre devant Graham Rahal, passé aussi en IndyCar Series. Simon Pagenaud réinvesti ses gains pour poursuivre sa carrière en Champ Car World Series avec Walker Racing et Team Australia en 2007. Déjà équipier de Will Power à l'époque, il termine huitième du classement final. Suite à la faillite de Team Australia il rejoint le championnat American Le Mans Series en 2008. Il participe parallèlement à plusieurs courses d’endurance en Europe comme les 1000 Kilomètres de Spa qu’il remporte ou les 24 heures du Mans où il frôle la victoire en 2011. L’année suivante, il signe avec Sam Schmidt Motorsports et commence sa première saison à plein temps en IndyCar.

Anecdotes

> Simon Pagenaud est le troisième français à avoir gagné les 500 miles d’Indianapolis après Jules Goux en 1913 et René Thomas en 1914. Les vainqueurs plus récents comme Gil de Ferran (2003) et Gaston Chevrolet (1920), bien qu’étant nés en France, sont répertoriés sous d’autres nationalités. Chevrolet apparaît sous la nationalité suisse tandis que de Ferran apparaît sous la nationalité brésilienne.
> Un gourmet autoproclamé, le plat préféré de Simon pour cuisiner est la spécialité de sa grand-mère, les tomates farcies.
> L'un des passe-temps favoris de Simon est le bricolage. Au cours d'une inter-saison, il a construit une cave à vin entière dans son sous-sol.
> Simon aime pratiquer le longboard avec son Jack Russell Terrier, Norman Pagenaud.

 

Team Penske est l'une des équipes les plus titrées dans l'histoire du sport professionnel. Les voitures engagées et préparées par le Team Penske ont conquis plus de 500 victoires majeures, plus de 600 pole positions et 37 titres en monoplace, en berline et en voiture de sport.

Durant ses 54 années de présence sur les circuits, l'équipe s'est imposée à 18 reprises sur les 500 Miles d'Indianapolis, a remporté deux Daytona 500, une victoire en Grand Prix de F1 et plusieurs victoires aux 24 Heures de Daytona et aux 12 Heures de Sebring. L'année dernière elle décrochait sa première victoire aux 1000 km de Bathurst.

En 2020, le Team Penske est engagé en NTT IndyCar Series, en NASCAR Cup Series, en NASCAR XFINITY Series et en IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. L'équipe est également présente en Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, en partenariat avec Dick Johnson Racing, sous le nom DJR Team Penske.

 

Visitez le site Web

tag - Simon Pagenaud News

Monoplace 2020 NTT IndyCar Series

Engine: Moteur: Chevrolet, 2,2 litres, V6, biturbo, 750 chevaux.
Chassis: Châssis: environ 730 kg, conçu par Dallara

Les dernières infos
Derrière les coulisses d’un week-end de course socialement distancié  - Simon Pagenaud News

28 / Jul / 2020

Derrière les coulisses d’un week-end de course socialement distancié


Lire la suite
IOWA INDYCAR 250S course 2 - Simon Pagenaud News

18 / Jul / 2020

IOWA INDYCAR 250S course 2


Lire la suite
Interview Canal+ Sport - Simon Pagenaud Vidéo

22 / Mar / 2020

Interview Canal+ Sport


Voir la vidéo
Simon Pagenaud Store

Facts, team & car - Simon Pagenaud, Professional Racing Driver

About Simon

 

Bio

Simon Pagenaud is back in 2020 for a sixth season with Team Penske, the most successful North American single-seater team. Pagenaud brilliantly won the 2019 Indianapolis 500 and became the first Frenchman to win "the greatest race in the world" in 99 years. Pagenaud's IndyCar record includes 15 wins, 14 pole positions (including the Indy 500), the 2016 IndyCar Series title and runner-up in 2017 and 2019. The Frenchman (Montmorillon, close to Poitiers) was voted Best Rookie in 2012 and won the U.S. ALMS LMP Endurance Championship in 2010.

Before becoming a champion in America, Pagenaud competed in Europe for several years before moving to the United States in 2006. After winning the "Volant Elf" (young drivers' competition), he got into motorsports in 2001 and finished second in the Formula Renault Campus championship straight away. The following year he moved to Formula Renault and finished runner-up in the Eurocup. He moved to the World Series by Renault in 2005. Attracted by the American championships, he participated in some tests with several Formula Atlantic championship teams and was hired by Team Australia in 2006 when he won the title ahead of current IndyCar driver Graham Rahal. Simon Pagenaud used his prize money to move up to the Champ Car World Series with Walker Racing and Team Australia in 2007. Already team-mate of Will Power at the time, he finished eighth in the final standings. Following the bankruptcy of Team Australia he joined the American Le Mans Series in 2008. At the same time, he participated in several endurance races in Europe, such as the 1000 kilometers of Spa which he won or the 24 Hours of Le Mans where he missed victory in 2011 by a close margin. The following year he signed with Sam Schmidt Motorsports and thus started his first full-time season in IndyCar.

Fun Facts

> Simon Pagenaud became the third Frenchman to win the Indianapolis 500 title after Jules Goux in 1913 and Rene Thomas in 1914. More recent previous champions Gil de Ferran (2003) and Gaston Chevrolet (1920), while born in France, list other nationalities. Chevrolet lists Swiss while de Ferran lists Brazilian.
> A self-proclaimed foodie, Simon's favorite dish to cook his his grandmother's special -- tomato farcie.
> One of Simon's favorite hobbies is home improvement. During the course of one off-season, he constructed an entire wine cellar in his basement.
> Simon enjoys longboarding with his Jack Russell Terrier, Norman Pagenaud.

 

Team PenskeTeam Penske is one of the most successful teams in the history of professional sports. Cars owned and prepared by Team Penske have produced more than 500 major race wins, over 600 pole positions and 37 Championships across open-wheel, stock car and sports car racing competition.

Over the course of its 54-year history, the team has also earned 18 Indianapolis 500 victories, two Daytona 500 Championships, a Formula 1 win, overall victories in the 24 Hours of Daytona and the 12 Hours of Sebring, along with a win in Australia's legendary Bathurst 1000 race.

For 2020, Team Penske will compete in the NTT IndyCar Series, the NASCAR Cup Series, the NASCAR Xfinity Series and the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship. The team also races in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship, in a partnership with Dick Johnson Racing, as DJR Team Penske.

 

Visit website

tag - Simon Pagenaud News

2020 NTT IndyCar Series Car

Engine: Chevrolet, 2.2-liter, V-6, twin-turbocharged with 750 horsepower
Chassis: Approximately 1,610 pounds, manufactured by Dallara

Latest news
IndyCar Harvest GP race 2, Indianapolis - Simon Pagenaud News

15 / Oct / 2020

IndyCar Harvest GP race 2, Indianapolis


Read More
IndyCar Harvest GP Race 1, Indianapolis - Simon Pagenaud News

05 / Oct / 2020

IndyCar Harvest GP Race 1, Indianapolis


Read More
VIDEO : Simon Pagenaud joins the city of Montmorillon to celebrate the Tour de France - Simon Pagenaud Video

11 / Sep / 2020

VIDEO : Simon Pagenaud joins the city of Montmorillon to celebrate the Tour de France


View Video
Simon Pagenaud Store